America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.
 
AMERICA'S REAL ESTATE ACADEMY, INC.
TEXAS REAL ESTATE SALES, APPRAISAL, AND HOME INSPECTION COURSES
"WHEN YOU'RE SERIOUS ABOUT REAL ESTATE EDUCATION"
   
  Texas State Requirements for Real Estate Sales and Brokers Printer Friendly Version
 
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission to obtain and maintain a license as a Real Estate Salesperson or Broker. The information provided below can be found on the commission’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Commission for more detailed information about the requirements for obtaining a real estate license.
 
Salesperson - Initial License

Pre-License Requirements - All applicants for a Texas salesperson license must:

  Successfully complete 60 hours of Principles of Real Estate, 30 hours of Law of Agency, 30 hours of Law of Contracts and 30 hours of an additional approved core real estate course of your choice. In addition you will need another four semesters (60 hours) of either core courses or related courses acceptable to the Commission.
  Submit copies of course completion certificates or transcripts along with request for evaluation of education documents form and $20.00 fee. Once you have met the education requirements you will receive an evaluation letter form the commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements. Only after receiving this letter may your application be filed.
  Apply and pay for your inactive Salesperson License this may be done online and the application fee is $79.50.
Once your application has been received, processed and accepted you will receive notification that you may obtain a copy of the Candidate Information Brochure to register for you examination.
  Pass the state exam at PSI with a grade of at least 70%, you can schedule your exam with PSI examination service at 1-800-733-9267 or online at PSI Online. The fee for the exam is $59.00.
 

You must be affiliated with a broker in order to receive your active license. You will need to file a salesperson sponsorship form and submit $20.00 fee for your broker to receive your active license. PLEASE NOTE you will not be able to perform any transactions until your broker receives your active license certificate.

Back to Top
Broker - Initial License
Broker Pre-License Requirements – All applicants for a Texas broker's license must:
  Successfully complete 270 hours of core real estate courses and an additional 630 hours in related courses acceptable to the commission.
  Have not less than 2 years active experience in Texas as a licensed real estate salesperson during the 96 month period immediately preceding the filing of the application.
  Submit copies of course completion certificates or transcripts along with request for evaluation of education documents form and $20.00 fee. Once you have met the education requirements you will receive an evaluation letter form the commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements. Only after receiving this letter may your application be filed.
  Apply and pay for your Broker License by an Individual this may be done online and the application fee is $310.00.Once your application has been received, processed and accepted you will receive notification that you may obtain a copy of the Candidate Information Brochure to register for you examination.
  Pass the state exam at PSI with a grade of at least 70%, you can schedule your exam with PSI examination service at 1-800-733-9267 or online at PSI Online.
Back to Top
Continuing Education Requirements
 
 

All licensees must complete 15 hours of CE every 2 years, this must include 6 hours of mandatory legal courses. Renewals may be processed online.

Back to Top
 
 



America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.
9425 Highway 92, Suite 148; Woodstock, GA 30188 (Office and Classroom)
Phone: 770-591-5552
email:
education@area-ga.com

© 2002-2017 America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.